Our History

Created in 1971 by a group of Capital Region Reform Jews, B’nai Sholom was conceived from the beginning as a small and responsive Reform congregation. Those who first met in the United Fourth Presbyterian Church (made available through the kindness of Reverend Bruce Miller and his congregation) — were dedicated to making a place of welcome for Jews who appreciated tradition, but were seeking a modern, more democratic interpretation. They honored openness and warmth, scholarship, lifelong learning.

In 1979, the congregation was ready for its own quarters, moving to the current home on Whitehall Road. Following the tenures of Rabbis Alvin Roth, Michael Kramer, and Harry Rothstein, Rabbi Donald P. Cashman became our spiritual leader in 1985 and led the congregation for 35 years before retiring in 2020.  Rabbi Katz was chosen in 2020 to serve as Interim rabbi while the congregation seeks its new permanent rabbi.

B’nai Sholom has responded to changes in the Reform movement while remaining firmly rooted in the deepest principles of Judaism. Every service that takes place in the Sanctuary reminds us that we are the current adherents of a strong and sustaining tradition in a place of accessibility and friendship that is our true spiritual home.

img001 Ground Breakingimg001 Ground Breaking April 1978img003

Check out other historical pictures on our photo gallery.

Founders of B’nai Sholom
Mr. and Mrs. Albert J. Abrams Mr. and Mrs. Frederic Adler
Mrs. Suzanne S. Ames Dr. and Mrs. Manuel Aronson
Mr. and Mrs. Gates B. Aufsesser Dr. and Mrs. Richard F. Balsam
 Mrs. Arthur M. Berg  Mr. and Mrs. Stanley S. Bergman
 Mr. and Mrs. Norman Brickman  Mr.and Mrs. Louis J. Buchman
 Mrs. Michael M. Dobris  Mr. Arnold E. Dubb
 Mrs. Benjamin Dubb  Mrs. Irving Englander
 Mr. and Mrs. Richard M. Englander  Mr. and Mrs. Eric M. Engler
 Mrs. Marvin Finkelstein  Mr. and Mrs. Robert I. Greenbaum
 Mr. and Mrs. Joseph R. Greenstein  Mr. and Mrs. Herman P. Kessler
 Mrs. Sonya E. Krakower  Mr. and Mrs. Max Kuperman
 Dr. and Mrs. William Laufer  Miss Dorothy Lazaroff
 Miss Rose Lichtenfels  Mr. and Mrs. David G. Loeb
 Mrs. Martin Loeb  Mrs. Beatrice R. Lowenstein
 Miss Ethel E. Metzendorf  Mrs. Samuel Metzendorf
 Dr. and Mrs. Richard P. Propp  Dr. and Mrs. Solomon Reznek
 Mr. and Mrs. Ira H. Rheingold  Mr. and Mrs. Harold R. Ronson
 Mr. and Mrs. Arthur A. Rosenberg  Dr. and Mrs. I. Alberto Sandler
 Mr. John Samuels  Mrs. Bernice Samuels
 Mr. and Mrs. Eliot Saxe  Mr. and Mrs. Walter A. Saxe
 Mr. and Mrs. Arthur T. Singer  Miss Mimi A. Singer
 Mr. and Mrs. Martin Somerdin  Mr. and Mrs. Richard F. Sonneborn
 Mr. and Mrs. Franklin J. Steinhardt  Mr. and Mrs Robert Stein
 Mr. and Mrs. Robert Stein, Jr  Dr. and Mrs. Martin R. Symansky
 Dr. and Mrs. Paul Tafler  Mr. and Mrs. David Velk
 Mrs. Ruth G. Warshaw


B'nai Sholom Albany NY